ETIAS: Everything You Need to Know About the New European Travel Authorisation

ETIAS: The New Travel Authorisation for Europe

Starting 2025, (May 2025 as per the Schengen ETIAS site) citizens of 60 visa-exempt countries will need to obtain an ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System) travel authorization (European Visas) before travelling to Europe. The ETIAS is a quick and easy online application that will allow authorities to screen travellers before they arrive in Europe.

travel to europe etias amari villa kefalonia  - 2025 - Travel waiver - travel visas for Europe  - Schengen area,
Travel to Europe

Who needs an ETIAS?

The following citizens will need an ETIAS to travel to Europe :

• Citizens of countries that are currently visa-exempt for short-term stays in the Schengen area. This includes countries such as the United Kingdom, the United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, New Zealand, and Japan.
• Citizens of countries that are not currently visa-exempt for short-term stays in the Schengen area, but who are eligible to apply for an ETIAS. This includes countries such as Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Kosovo, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and Serbia.

How to apply for an ETIAS?

New Travel Regulations Europe – The Essential ETIAS Guide for Travellers 

The ETIAS application process will be simple and straightforward. Applicants will be able to apply online and will need to provide the following information:
• Their passport information
• Their personal information (name, address, etc.)
• Their travel plans
• Their contact information

The application fee for the ETIAS will be €7.

The benefits of ETIAS

The ETIAS will help to improve security in Europe by allowing authorities to screen travellers before they arrive. The ETIAS will also help to facilitate travel by making it easier and faster for travellers to obtain the necessary authorisation to enter Europe.

If you are planning to travel to Europe in 2025 or later, you will need to obtain an ETIAS. You can learn more about the ETIAS and the application process on the European Commission website.

Here are some additional things to keep in mind about ETIAS:

  • The ETIAS is valid for up to three years or until your passport expires, whichever comes first.
  • You can apply for an ETIAS up to 90 days before your travel date.
  • You will need to have a valid email address to apply for an ETIAS.
  • The ETIAS is not a visa. It is a travel authorisation that allows you to enter the Schengen area for short-term stays.
  • If you are denied an ETIAS, you will not be able to enter the Schengen area.
  • Keep an eye on the Schengen website for the latest news

Planning Your European Trip with ETIAS Authorisation?

While you’re getting your ETIAS sorted for your European travels, don’t miss out on experiencing the charm of Greece! Stay at the Amari Villa in Kefalonia – a haven for travellers seeking tranquillity amidst pristine landscapes. Discover unparalleled comfort and luxury, ensuring a seamless European journey from start to finish.

🔗 Book Your Stay at Amari Villa Kefalonia Now!